welcome to Bruce County


How to be a Delegation

There are times when a citizen or a group of citizens may wish to express an opinion on an issue. Delegations are encouraged to address their concerns to either the Committee which is responsible for a particular issue or to County Council. To request a delegation to County Council or if you are unsure of where to direct your request, please provide your written request addressed to the Clerk or Chief Administrative Officer. You may submit your request by:

  1. Mail to 30 Park Street, PO Box 70, Walkerton, ON N0G 2V0;
  2. Fax (519) 881-1619; or by
  3. Email: dvanwyck@brucecounty.on.ca or kcoulter@brucecounty.on.ca

Delegations wishing to address Council or Committee must notify the Clerk five (5) business days prior to the regular Council or Committee meeting.  The request must include the name(s) of the speakers and the subject matter to be presented.

Any person or group who is scheduled to appear as a delegation before Council or Committee is requested to submit to the Clerk written or electronic documentation concerning the presentation not less than five (5) business days preceding the meeting.

Each delegation shall be limited in speaking to not more than ten (10) minutes.  Extensions to this time limit will be at the discretion of the Warden.

No person shall be permitted to speak to Council more than once within six (6) months on the same topic without the prior permission of Council.

No person shall be permitted as a delegation to Council if the purpose of the delegation is to speak regarding:

1.  A tender or request for proposal which is either proposed, pending or actually before Council or a Committee of Council for its consideration;

2.  Labour relations;

3.  Legal issues including the enforcement of By-laws, litigation and potential litigation;

4.  Insurance claims; or

5.  Contract negotiations

Delegations not listed on the Agenda may be heard provided a majority of the members' present vote to hear the delegation.

The listing below outlines the name and contact information for Committee delegation requests:

Planning & Development
Chris LaForest,
Director of Planning & Development
(519) 881-1782 -Walkerton
(519) 534-2092 - Wiarton

Corporate Services
Bettyanne Cobean,
Director of Corporate Services
(519) 881-1291

Human Resources
Marianne Nero,
Director of Human Resources
(519) 881-2952

Brian Knox,
(519) 881-2400

Museum & Archives
Cathy McGirr
Museum Director/Curator
(519) 797-2080 / 1-800-318-8889

Social Services and Housing
Christine MacDonald

Director, Social Services and Housing
(519) 881-0431

Library Board
Melissa Legacy,

Library Director
(519) 832-6935

Director of Health Services (Long Term Care and Paramedic Services)
Charles Young