

Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the County of Bruce Council Chambers, Walkerton at 9:35 a.m. on Thursday, August 3, 2017.

1. Roll Call

Present: Warden Mitch Twolan

Councillors Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, Paul Eagleson, David Inglis, Janice

Jackson, Milt McIver and Mike Smith

Staff: Kelley Coulter, CAO

Darlene Batte, Deputy Clerk

Bettyanne Cobean, Director of Corporate Services

Chris LaForest, Director of Planning

Melissa Legacy, Director of Library Services

Christine MacDonald, Director of Social Services and Housing

Michael McKeage, Director of Health Services

Janice Mewhinney, Business / Income Development Manager

Marianne Nero, Director of Human Resources

Donna Van Wyck, Clerk

Regrets: Brian Knox, Engineer and Cathy McGirr, Museum Director

2. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

3. Minutes

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That the minutes of the July 6, 2017 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

4. Communications

A. Canadian Association of Nuclear Host Communities / Municipality of Kincardine

Confirming full support for the proposal by Ontario Power Generation (OPG) to develop a Deep Geologic Repository (DGR) at the Bruce Nuclear site.

B. Municipality of Brockton

Resolution urging the Province to strengthen nuclear emergency response measures; and

- 1) Recognize public expectations for public safety by ensuring plans are in place;
- 2) Adopt a policy of meeting or exceeding international best practices in nuclear emergency response measures wherever feasible;
- 3) Require provincial and municipal authorities to regularly identify vulnerable communities within provincial nuclear response zones and prepare emergency measures adapted to the needs of such vulnerable communities;
- 4) Include new requirements for transparency and regular public review, especially with affected communities;

Ensure awareness campaigns are in place to inform the residents of the Municipality of Brockton on how to prepare for a nuclear emergency

C. Township of Manitouwadge

Supporting Municipality of Bluewater's resolution regarding Bill 7, amendments to Residential Tenancies Act, 2006.

5. Delegations

There were no delegations.

6. Staff Reports

There were no County Staff reports.

7. Inquiries and Announcements

There were no inquiries or announcements.

8. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor Paul Eagleson Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That the minutes of the following meetings be approved:

July 6, 2017

- Executive Committee
- Corporate Services Committee
- Human Resources Committee
- Museum Committee
- Social Services and Housing Committee
- Highways Committee
- Planning and Development Committee

Carried

9. Notice of Motion

There were no Notice of motions.

10. Other Business

There was no other business.

11. By-laws

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That the following by-laws be approved:

2017-052 - A by-law to authorize the execution of an agreement between the Corporation of the County of Bruce and the Municipality of South Bruce to facilitate the cost-sharing of drainage improvements and reconstruction of Bruce Road 12 in the Hamlet of Belmore

2017-053 - A by-law to authorize the execution of a Disaster Response Agreement for Disaster Relief Services between the Corporation of the County of Bruce and the Canadian Red Cross Society

2017-054 - A by-law to authorize the execution of a lease extension and amendment agreement (Lease # L07789) between the Corporation of the County of Bruce and Her Majesty the Queen in right of Ontario as represented by the Minister of Infrastructure

2017-055 - A by-law to adopt Amendment No. 224 to the County of Bruce Official Plan

2017-056 - A by-law to establish the Office of Integrity Commissioner and a process for hearing complaints regarding elected officials of the County of Bruce

2017-057 - A By-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 3rd day of August, 2017

Carried

12. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor David Inglis

That the meeting of Bruce County Council adjourn at 9:40 a.m.

That the meeting of Bruce County Co	Ju
Carried	
Mitch Twolan, Warden	
Donna Van Wyck, Clerk	