

Executive Committee Minutes

June 9, 2016 10:35 a.m. Council Chambers Walkerton, Ontario

Present: Warden Mitch Twolan, chair

Councillors Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, Paul Eagleson, David Inglis, Mike

Smith and Milt McIver

Staff: Kelley Coulter, Chief Administrative Officer

Darlene Batte, Administrative Assistant

Regrets: Councillor Janice Jackson

1. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

2. Action Items

A. Bruce County's 150th Celebrations

Ann-Marie Collins, Project Lead, 150th Cross Functional Team, introduced Ron Oswald, Honourary Chair and members Jesse McGibbon, Kevin Predon, Paul McGrath and made a presentation on plans for the County's 150th Anniversary celebrations.

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That the plans for the Bruce County's 150th Celebrations be approved including a net budget to be funded from the tax levy of \$102,500 for 2017; and,

That the Cross Functional Team be authorized to purchase a trailer to be used for outreach purposes up to the amount of \$5,000 Canadian.

Carried

3. Cross Functional Team Final Report RE: Rental, Travel and Mileage Policy, Adverse Weather Conditions Policy and Alternate Work Location Policy

The CAO Introduced members of the Rental, Travel, Mileage Cross Functional Team; Angela Schmidt, Vicky Ly, Lynn Hatten and Susan Wolfe-Dales

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the Executive Committee receive the Cross Functional Team Final Report RE: Rental, Travel and Mileage Policy, Adverse Weather Conditions Policy and Alternate Work Location Policy; and,

That the Executive Committee endorse the following policies with a recommended implementation timeframe of September 1, 2016;

- 1. The "Rental, Travel and Mileage Policy";
- 2. The "Adverse Weather Conditions Policy";
- 3. The "Alternate Work Location Policy"; and,

That the Executive Committee endorse staff moving forward with investigating the following recommendations:

- 1. To lease a County vehicle for the Walkerton Administration Building
- 2. To review Technology Solutions to streamline processes

Carried

4. Delegations at AMO Conference

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That the County submit a request for delegations at the 2016 AMO Conference for the following topics:

Ontario Registered Pension Plan Library - Youth Internship Program Funding Children's Services (funding formula) Arbitration

Carried

5. Economic Development - Bruce Power

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That the Chief Administrative Officer be authorized to sign the Memorandum of Understanding with Bruce Power with respect to Economic Development and Innovation Consultant for July 11, 2016 to June 30, 2018 with a one year extension to June 30, 2019, subject to Bruce Power agreement.

Carried

6. Closed Meeting

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That the Committee move into a closed meeting to discuss Economic Development and Bruce Power Refurbishment, pursuant to Section (2) (b) of the Municipal Act related to personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees.

Carried

7. Rise and Report

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That the Committee rise and report from the closed meeting.

Carried

8. Economic Development - Bruce Power

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That the Memorandum of Understanding, be approved; and,

That the contract arrangements for the joint Economic Development Position that will work from Bruce County Administration Centre and the Bruce Power Corporate Office to June 30, 2018 with a one year extension to June 30, 2019 subject to Bruce Power agreement.

Carried

9. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Executive Committee will take place at the call of the Chair.

10. Adjournment

Carried

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor Mike Smith

That the meeting of the Executive Committee adjourn at 11:58 a.m.

Warden Mitch Twolan, Chair
Executive Committee