

The Corporation of the County of Bruce Planning and Development Committee Minutes

September 17, 2015 9:30 a.m. Council Chambers Walkerton, Ontario

Present: Councillors Anne Eadie (Acting Chair), Robert Buckle, Paul

Eagleson, Janice Jackson, Milt McIver and Mike Smith

Alternates: Wilf Gamble and Dan Gieruszak

Staff: Kelley Coulter, Chief Administrative Officer

Darlene Batte, Administrative Assistant Sherri Dillon, Office Manager, Highways

Dana Kieffer, Planner Brian Knox, Engineer

Chris LaForest, Director of Planning

Bruce Stickney, Land Use Planning Manager

Jack Van Dorp, Senior Planner

Kara Van Myall, Manager of Corporate Policy

Regrets: Warden Mitch Twolan & Councillor David Inglis

1. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

2. Public Meeting

A. Bruce County Official Plan Amendment Number 183

The Chair opened the Public Meeting and indicated that a presentation would be made by the Staff Planner. He further indicated that after the presentation, any members of the public could speak in favor of or in opposition to the presentation.

The following members of the public addressed the Committee:

- Albert Hayes in opposition to the Official Plan Amendment
- Owen Maas, representing Cuesta Planning in support of the application
- The applicant, Mr. Les Bushell in support of the application

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That Bruce County Official Plan Amendment Number 183-14.11 for lands described as Park Lots 207 to 209 Plan 240 Less Road Widening (geographic Township of Kinloss), Township of Huron-Kinloss [1635 and 1647 Bruce Road 1] be approved. "Schedule 'A': Land Use (South Section)" of the County of Bruce Official Plan is hereby amended as shown on Schedule 'A'.

Carried

Staff Planner, Dana Kieffer withdrew from the Chambers following discussions related to Official Plan Amendment Number 183 at 9:45 a.m.

3. Action I tems

A. Bruce County Official Plan Amendment Number 197 – West Road

Moved by Councillor Mike Smith Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That Bruce County Official Plan Amendment 197-15.54 be refused for the following reasons:

- 1. The application is premature
- 2. The application lacks land use planning rationale

At the request of Councillor Janice Jackson a recorded vote was taken as follows:

	Yes	No
	(Votes)	(Votes)
Councillor Buckle	1	
Councillor Eadie	2	
Councillor Eagleson	1	
Alternate Gieruszak	2	
Councillor Jackson		3
Councillor McIver	2	
Councillor Smith	3	
Alternate Gamble	2	
Total	13	3

The motion was declared carried.

Brian Knox and Sherri Dillon withdrew from the Chambers at 10:25 a.m.

B. Invitation to join the Bruce Peninsula Forest Restoration and Stewardship Task Force

Moved by Alternate Wilf Gamble Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That Kevin Predon be authorized to be a Technical Advisor to the Bruce Peninsula Forest Restoration and Stewardship Task Force.

Carried

C. Forest for the Future – Pilot Project Proposal

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor Janice Jackson

That the County of Bruce be authorized to partner with the Bruce Peninsula Biosphere Association in a pilot project, as outlined in the report dated September 17, 2015.

Carried

D. Conservation Authority Act

Moved by Alternate Dan Giersuzak Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the comments related to the Conservation Authority Act as provided in the Conservation Authority Act Report dated September 17, 2015 be forwarded to the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry through the Environmental Bill of Rights (EBR) as modified to reflect widespread support for local representation on the Conservation Boards.

Carried

4. Information Items

A. Economic Development Transitional Phasing Plan Update

The Economic Development Transitional Phasing Plan was received for information.

5. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Planning and Development Committee will take place on Thursday, October 22, 2015 beginning at 9:30 a.m. in the Council Chambers, County of Bruce Administration Centre. Walkerton, Ontario.

6. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the meeting of the Planning and Development Committee adjourn at 11:15 a.m.

Carried

Councillor Anne Eadie, Acting Chair Planning and Development Committee