

The Corporation of the County of Bruce

Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the County of Bruce Council Chambers, Walkerton at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, January 2, 2014.

1. Roll Call

- Present: Warden John Close Councillors Paul Eagleson, Bill Goetz, David Inglis, Larry Kraemer, Milt McIver and Mike Smith Alternate Wilf Gamble
- Staff:Kelley Coulter, CAO
Graeme Barrie, Director of Information Technology
Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasurer
Doug Harris, Director of Human Resources
Brian Knox, Engineer
Chris LaForest, Director of Planning
Eleanor MacEwen, Administrator Brucelea Haven
Cathy McGirr, Acting Museum Director/Curator
Terry Sanderson, Director of Social Services
Doug Smith, Director of Emergency Services
Donna Van Wyck, Deputy Clerk
Charles Young, Administrator Gateway Haven
- **Regrets:** Councillor Mitch Twolan Dr. Hazel Lynn, Medical Officer of Health Michelle Southam, Library Director
- **Recording Secretary:** Darlene Batte, Administrative Assistant

2. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

Councillor Larry Kraemer joined the meeting at 9:35 a.m.

3. Minutes

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor David Inglis

That the minutes of the December 5, 2013 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

4. Communications

Α. Ministry of Ministry of Energy

Advising of the release of Ontario's updated Long-Term Energy Plan, Achieving Balance, a copy of which has been provided. Filed

В. Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities

Providing an update on Ontario's dealings with the federal government on a renewed Labour Market Agreement

Referred to the Corporate Services Committee – Human Resources Division

C. Municipality of East Ferris

Correspondence to the Premier of Ontario expressing disappointment and concern with the recent announcement regarding the distribution of the \$100 million Small, Rural and Northern Municipal Infrastructure Fund.

Filed

D. Town of Fort Frances

Resolution petitioning the Premier of Ontario to support the proposed billing model change or a model for policing that ensures an equitable distribution of cost sharing for all municipalities and unorganized territories in Ontario. Filed

Ε. **County of Lambton**

Resolution in support of the Southwestern Chapter of the Ontario Building Officials Association opposing the regualification of Municipal Building Officials under the Ontario Regulation 332/12 and the Ontario **Building Code** Filed

F. Township of Mulmur

Resolution advising the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation that it is entirely inappropriate and unacceptable to not immediately and retroactively assess a building that has been erected without a building permit for the current year and up to two prior years (depending on when it was built and occupied) when such is the norm for buildings with building permits.

Referred to the Corporate Services Committee – Finance and Property Division and filed

G. United Counties of Prescott and Russell

Resolution petitioning the Ministry of Natural Resources to amend the Aggregate Resources Act to ensure that peat-moss extractors are subject to the same criteria as other aggregate extractors. Filed

H. Autism Ontario

Extending an invitation to municipalities across the province of Ontario to raise awareness about Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) by participating in the 2014 " Raise the Flag" campaign. Filed

I. Ontario Association of Police Services Board Zone 4

Forwarding concerns to the President of the Ontario Association of Police Services Boards related to the recent OAPSB correspondence of November 25, 2013 that discusses the Section 10 Provincial Police Billing consultations.

Referred to the Corporate Services Committee – Finance and Property Division and filed.

J. Natalie Follis, Scholarship Recipient

Expressing appreciation to the County's support of the scholarship program. Filed K. Municipality of McDougall Town of Mississippi Mills Township of Archipelago Township of Limerick Township of Sequin Tay Valley Township Village of Oil Springs

The above-mentioned municipalities have passed resolutions in opposition to the Ontario Provincial Police – new Billing Model.

Filed

5. Delegations

Bruce Power Update

Mr. James Scongack, Manager of Government and Community Relations, Bruce Power provided an update on activities and developments at Bruce Power.

Home and Community Support Services of Grey-Bruce – Movin 'GB

Mr. Andy Underwood, Executive Director made a presentation to Council on the services provided by the Home and Community Support Services (HCSS) of Grey-Bruce. Mr. Underwood reported that HCSS provides a number of community based services that support independence and enhance the quality of daily life for seniors, adults and their families.

Mr. Underwood spoke specifically to the Movin 'GB Program explaining that it is an affordable, community-based, accessible transportation system available to residents of Grey and Bruce Counties.

6. County Officer Reports

There were no County Officer Reports.

7. Inquiries and Announcements

Warden John Close asked Members of Council and Senior Management staff to join him in congratulating Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasurer on reaching her 25 year milestone with the County of Bruce, January 3, 2014.

Warden John Close extended an invitation to attend the upcoming Wiarton Willie Festival, February 2, 2014.

8. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That the Minutes of the following Committees be approved:

December 5, 2013

- Agriculture, Tourism and Planning Committee
- Corporate Services Committee
 - Finance and Property Division
 - Human Resources Division
- Emergency Services Committee
- Homes Committee
- Museum Committee
- Social Services and Housing Committee

December 19, 2013

- Agriculture, Tourism and Planning Committee
- Corporate Services Committee
 O Human Resources Division
- Highways Committee

Carried

9. Motions

There were no further motions.

10. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business.

11. By-laws

Moved by Councillor Bill Goetz Seconded by Councillor David Inglis

That the following by-laws be approved:

2014–001 A by-law to authorize the Execution of an Amending Agreement to the New Municipal Hazardous or Special Waste (MHSW) Services Agreement between Stewardship Ontario and the Corporation of the County of Bruce. 2014-002 A by-law to transfer jurisdiction of Bruce County's portion of the bridge and approaches known as the Normanby-Carrick Bridge (Bruce County No. 00300B) to the Municipality of South Bruce.

2014-003 A by-law to restrict the weight of vehicles passing over County bridges.

2014-004 A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 2nd day of January, 2014.

Carried

12. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Bill Goetz Seconded by Councillor David Inglis

That County Council adjourn at 10:00 a.m. to meet again on Thursday, February 6, 2014 at 9:30 a.m.

Carried

John Close, Warden Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasurer