

The Corporation of the County of Bruce Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the County of Bruce Council Chambers, Walkerton at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, March 5, 2015.

1. Roll Call

Present: Warden Mitch Twolan

Councillors Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, Paul Eagleson, David Inglis,

Milt McIver and Mike Smith

Staff: Kelley Coulter, CAO

Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasurer Chris LaForest, Director of Planning Cathy McGirr, Museum Director

Brian Knox, Engineer

Marianne Nero, Director of Human Resources Doug Smith, Director of Emergency Services

Donna Van Wyck, Deputy Clerk

Steven Wilson, Interim Director of Information Technology

Charles Young, Administrator – Gateway Haven

Regrets: Councillor Janice Jackson

Dr. Hazel Lynn, Medical Officer of Health

Eleanor MacEwen, Administrator – Brucelea Haven

Michelle Southam, Library Director

Recording Secretary: Darlene Batte, Administrative Assistant

2. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

3. Minutes

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the minutes of the February 5, 2015 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

4. Communications

A. Ministry of Transportation

The Ontario Ministry of Transportation is seeking stakeholder input on whether to consider changing the default speed limit for local roads with urban areas. Comments to be provided by February 27, 2015.

Referred to the Highways Committee

B. Township of Evanturel

Resolution supporting and endorsing resolutions passed by municipalities requesting the Province to implement a billing method for those properties in unincorporated territory to ensure fair OPP billing throughout Ontario.

Filed

C. Town of South Bruce Peninsula

Resolution not supporting any reconstruction of the West Road beyond regular maintenance.

Referred to the Highways Committee and filed

D. Ontario Beekeepers' Association

Correspondence recommending that municipalities encourage farm groups, including (but not limited to) GFO, CFFO, NFU an OBA, to work collaboratively toward the successful implementation of the Ontario Pollinator Protection Plan.

Filed

E. Anna Dietrich family

Expressing appreciation for the flowers sent in memory of Anna Dietrich (mother of Bill Dietrich, Brucelea)

Filed

5. Delegations

Final Report of the Precarious Work Group of Peace & Justice Grey Bruce

Mr. David McLaren, accompanied by Committee members, Ann Schneider, Colleen Purdon, Denise Freeman, MaryAnn Wilhelm and Michael McLuhan presented the Final Report of the Precarious Work Group of Peace & Justice Grey Bruce, a non-partisan group of citizens interested in matters of peace and social justice making the following recommendations:

- That Council adopt a Living Wage Policy for its own employees that...
 - Is tied to an hourly rate established each year by the United Way Bruce Grey;
 - o Will apply to both full time and part time employees;
 - Applies to persons who perform physical work on County premises and properties.
- That staff bring back information to Council on the impact of implementing a Living Wage Policy for services contracted by the County of Bruce, and a recommendation for Council consideration;
- That Council join with other councils in the Grey Bruce region to strike a task force to examine options and strategies for developing a creative and innovative economy;
- That Council strike a committee of Council to examine innovative alternatives to providing affordable housing, including co-op housing and rezoning.

This report and recommendations were referred to the Corporate Services Committee – Finance and Property Division Committee for review and consideration.

6. County Officer Reports

There were no County Officer Reports.

7. Inquiries and Announcements

There were no Inquiries or Announcements.

8. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor David Inglis

That the minutes of the following meetings be approved:

February 5, 2015

- Corporate Services Committee Finance and Property Division
- Corporate Services Committee Human Resources Division
- Corporate Services Committee Information Technology Division
- Emergency Services Committee
- Homes Committee
- Museum Committee
- Social Services and Housing Committee

February 19, 2015

- Agriculture, Tourism and Planning Committee
- Corporate Services Committee Finance and Property Division
- Corporate Services Committee Human Resources Division
- Highways Committee

Carried

9. Motions

There were no further motions.

10. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business.

11. By-laws

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That the following by-laws be approved:

2015 – 010 – A by-law to authorize the execution of a Lease Extension Agreement between the Corporation of the County of Bruce and Samdoon Holdings for the Kincardine Employment Resource Centre

2015 – 011 - A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 5^{th} day of March, 2015

Carried

12. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Paul Eagleson Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That County Council adjourn at 10:02 a.m. to meet again on Thursday, April 2, 2015 at 9:30 a.m.

Carried	
Mitch Twolan, Warden	
Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasur	er