

# The Corporation of the County of Bruce Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the County of Bruce Council Chambers, Walkerton at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, August 6, 2015.

#### 1. Roll Call

**Present:** Warden Mitch Twolan

Councillor David Inglis, Councillors Robert Buckle, Anne Eadie, Paul

Eagleson, Janice Jackson and Mike Smith

Alternate Patricia Greig

Staff: Kelley Coulter, CAO

Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasurer Cathy McGirr, Museum Director

Brian Knox, Engineer

Chris LaForest, Director of Planning

Melissa Legacy, Director of Library Services

Christine MacDonald, Director of Social Services and Housing

Marianne Nero, Director of Human Resources Bruce Stickney, Land Use Planning Manager Doug Smith, Director of Emergency Services

Steven Wilson, Interim Director of Information Technology

Charles Young, Administrator – Gateway Haven

Dr. Christine Kennedy, Associate Medical Officer of Health

**Regrets:** Councillor Milt McIver

Eleanor MacEwen, Administrator – Brucelea Haven

**Recording Secretary:** Darlene Batte, Administrative Assistant

## 2. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

#### 3. Minutes

Moved by Councillor Anne Eadie Seconded by Councillor Robert Buckle

That the minutes of the July 2, 2015 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

#### 4. Communications

## A. Bill Walker, MPP, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound

Forwarding correspondence received from Elaine and Uwe Wassermann addressing their concerns regarding the West Road Expansion.

Filed

## B. Bill Walker, MPP, Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound

Forwarding correspondence received from Jerry Carrier addressing his concerns regarding the West Road Expansion.

Filed

## C. Town of Amherstburg

Resolution requesting the Federal Minister of Transport who oversees Canada Post to require Canada Post to halt installation of community mailboxes immediately and adhere to its five-point Action Plan requirement to engage in full and meaningful consultation with all stakeholders.

Filed

# D. Township of Clearview

Resolution supporting the Township of Severn's letter to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs regarding provincial planning initiatives.

Filed

#### E. Town of South Bruce Peninsula

Resolution requesting the County of Bruce to provide more information regarding a County wide police force.

Carried

## F. Bruce Peninsula Biosphere Association

Extending an invitation for the County's Forestry Technician to join the Bruce Peninsula Forest Restoration and Stewardship Task Force in order to provide technical advice and assistance.

Referred to the Planning and Development Committee and filed

#### G. Theresia Kiaulehn

Expressing concern regarding the proposed widening of the West Road as it relates to Wind Turbines.

Filed

## H. Sam Prestipino

Expressing concern regarding the proposed widening of the West Road as it relates to Wind Turbines.

Filed

#### 5. Delegations

## A. Bruce Power Update

James Scongack, Vice President, Corporate Affairs provided an update on the activities at Bruce Power.

Mr. Scongack also spoke to the Media Release related to Bruce Power community emergency preparedness initiatives advancing.

## 6. County Officer Reports

Councillor Smith introduced Dr. Christine Kennedy, Associate Medical Officer of Health who reported on the whooping cough outbreak in Huron and Bruce Counties.

# 7. Inquiries and Announcements

Warden Twolan announced his intention to seek the position of Warden for 2016.

#### 8. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor Robert Buckle Seconded by Councillor Anne Eadie

That the minutes of the following meetings be approved:

July 2, 2015

- Corporate Services Committee Finance and Property Division
- Emergency Services Committee
- Homes Committee
- Museum Committee

July 9, 2015

- Corporate Services Committee Finance and Property Division;
- Corporate Services Committee Human Resources Division;
- Highways Committee
- Planning & Economic Development Committee
- Social Services and Housing Committee

#### **Carried**

#### 9. Motions

There were no further motions.

#### 10. Unfinished Business

There was no unfinished business.

## 11. By-laws

Moved by Councillor Paul Eagleson Seconded by Councillor Janice Jackson

That the following by-laws be approved:

2015 – 030 – A by-law to Adopt Amendment No. 195 to the County of Bruce Official Plan

2015 - 031 - A by-law to establish an Acquisitions Reserve Fund

2015 – 032 - A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 6th day of August, 2015

Carried

12.	Adjournment	
	Moved by Alternate Patricia Greig	

Moved by Alternate Patricia Greig Seconded by Councillor Paul Eagleson

That County Council adjourn at 9:50 a.m. to meet again on Thursday, September 10, 2015 at 9:30 a.m.

Carried	
Warden Mitch Twolan	
Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Trea	surer