

The Corporation of the County of Bruce Bruce County Council Minutes

The regular meeting of Bruce County Council was held in the County of Bruce Council Chambers, Walkerton at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday, November 6, 2014.

1. Roll Call

Present: Warden John Close

Councillors Paul Eagleson, Bill Goetz, David Inglis, Larry Kraemer, Milt McIver, Mike Smith and Mitch Twolan

Staff: Kelley Coulter, CAO

Graeme Barrie, Director of Information Technology

Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasurer

Brian Knox, Engineer

Chris LaForest, Director of Planning

Eleanor MacEwen, Administrator – Brucelea Haven

Cathy McGirr, Museum Director/Curator

Marianne Nero, Director of Human Resources Terry Sanderson, Director of Social Services Doug Smith, Director of Emergency Services

Michelle Southam, Library Director Donna Van Wyck, Deputy Clerk

Charles Young, Administrator – Gateway Haven

Regrets: Dr. Hazel Lynn, Medical Officer of Health

Recording Secretary: Darlene Batte, Administrative Assistant

2. Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

3. Minutes

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Bill Goetz

That the minutes of the October 9, 2014 Council Session be adopted as circulated.

Carried

4. Communications

A. South Bruce Peninsula Fire Department

Resolution requesting the Bruce County Roads Department to install a signalized Pedestrian Cross Walk at the intersection of Bruce Street and Pine Tree Drive, Hepworth, Ontario

Referred to the Highways Committee

5. Delegations

A. Alleged Improperly Closed Meetings of County Council

Mr. John Mann addressed Council related to the alleged improperly closed meetings of County Council. Mr. Mann requested that the County consider:

- the implementation of webcasting Council and Committee meetings to allow for the public to have access to meeting information presented; and,
- providing the opportunity for Bruce County citizens to participate in citizen meetings to voice their concerns and have their questions answered related to Ontario Power Generation (OPG), Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) and Nuclear Waste Management Ontario (NWMO).

Mr. Mann's letter will be referred to the Corporate Services Committee.

6. Remembrance Day

In recognition of Remembrance Day, the "Bruce Remembers" video was viewed followed by a moment's silence being observed.

7. County Officer Reports

Mr. Chris LaForest, Director of Planning presented an Environmental Scan of Bruce County.

8. Inquiries and Announcements

Warden Close welcomed and congratulated Ms. Cathy McGirr for being selected as Museum Director for the Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre.

Councillor Mitch Twolan announced his intention to seek the position of Warden for 2015.

Warden Close congratulated and acknowledged Ms. Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treasurer for 30 years of committed service to municipal government, 25 of which have been to the County of Bruce.

9. Committee Minutes

Moved by Councillor David Inglis Seconded by Councillor Bill Goetz

That the Minutes of the following Committees be approved:

October 9, 2014

- Corporate Services Committee
 - Finance and Property Division
- Emergency Services Committee
- Homes Committee
- Social Services and Housing Committee

October 23, 2014

- Agriculture, Tourism and Planning Committee
- Highways Committee

Carried

10. Motions

There were no further motions.

11. Unfinished Business

On behalf of the County of Bruce, Ms. Kelley Coulter CAO made a presentation to the following Councillors not returning for the next term of County Council.

Councillor Larry Kraemer – 2007 -2014; Councillor Bill Goetz – 2007 – 2014; and, Warden John Close – 2011 – 2014.

12. By-laws

Moved by Councillor Milt McIver Seconded by Councillor Mitch Twolan

That the following by-laws be approved:

2014 - 050 - A by-law to establish the Shilling Reserve Fund

2014 – 051 - A by-law to Adopt Amendment No. 188 to the County of Bruce Official Plan

2014 - 052 - A by-law to authorize the execution of a Service Manager Administration Agreement Investment in Affordable Housing for Ontario (2014 Extension) between Her Majesty the Queen in right of Ontario as represented by the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing and the Corporation of the County of Bruce

2014 - 053 - A by-law to authorize Speed Limits on the Bruce County Road System and in Construction Zones

2014 – 054 - A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the County of Bruce at its meeting held the 6th day of November, 2014

Carried

13. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Mitch Twolan Seconded by Councillor Milt McIver

That County Council adjourn at 10:15 a.m. to meet again on Thursday, December 4, 2014.

Thursday, December 4, 2014.	
Carried	
John Close, Warden	
Bettyanne Cobean, Clerk-Treas	urer